Discuss the various methods you use in music production, from compressor settings to equipment type.
By hyp Fri Dec 18, 2009 8:25 am
i recently documented my entire process of beatmaking & song construction for a track i just completed. it starts from creative conception and goes all the way through tracking out and final mix in Logic Pro. if you're curious about how others do things, it may interest you. i tried keeping it pretty general (may have failed) to accommodate various skill levels so if you have any technical questions, just ask. it's broken up into 3 parts:

birth of a beat - hiro's beat:
part 1 - creative conception, chopping the main sample, laying down drums
part 2 - diggin' for complementary sounds, bassline, hook, creating sequences
part 3 - song structure, tracking out, fine tuning, mutes & fx, mixing and export

i thought i'd give back and share what knowledge i do have. this is my first attempt at documenting something so tedious but i hope it's useful in one way or another and that it doesn't fly too far over anyone's head. in the future i may try this on video, i thought i'd take a stab in written form first. please leave any constructive feedback you may have, as i'm always trying to improve.

peace
By JUKE 179r Fri Dec 18, 2009 10:23 am
Good info. 8)
You should have posted this here... http://www.mpc-forums.com/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=93193
By Clint Fri Dec 18, 2009 9:26 pm
I thought it was going to be a set of videos...

But still a good read, I always like to hear the 'anatomy of a track' by the actual producer.

A good example of an efficient workflow using the MPC with Logic.
By dabmeister Fri Dec 18, 2009 10:29 pm
Good info! Though my style of composing mainly consists of actually playing out my ideas, the concept here is still the same.

I'm seeing that my style of writing greatly differs from the majority around here (which isn't a bad thing).